Last weekend I’ve been induced to soapmaking. I’ve made two (yes two!) batches of soap. The one was my first attempt at HP soaps, a Luxurious Facial Soap for Oily skins with Grapeseed oil and Evening Primrose Oil. HP is not easy not matter what they tell you. Unfortunately I might have added the EOs when the soap was still hot and they were completely evaporated. My soap smells like oil, which is not bad, but still, it is oil. So I’ve got to hand-mill it and add some oily skin friendly additives. But still… this soap is heaven for my skin. I wasn’t so convinced that oils could have so different properties, but they do!!! This one has excellent bubbly lather, good cleansing properties and leaves your face soft like a rose petal. So here is the recipe. Remember this is HP but I think you could try it for CP if you wish. Be sure to use an online lye calculator to determine the amount of water and lye that you will need.

Cristina’s Luxurious Facial Soap for Oily Skin

  • 33% Olive Oil
  • 22% Coconut Oil (76 degrees)
  • 5,5% Castor Oil
  • 5% Cocoa Butter
  • 17% Grapeseed Oil
  • 16% Sesame Oil

After soap is ready and before putting to molds (or after reaching trace if you’re using CP) superfat with Evening Primrose Oil (5% of your oils). For oily skin you can use tea tree oil, cedarwood, rosemary, ylang-ylang and lavender EOs. A tsp for a pound of oils should do but always use your nose as a guide.

The second batch of soap was a CP recipe with Sweet Orange and Calendula and additional Oatmeal for some extra skin love. I doubled my usual batch size cause I want to give this soap as a gift for Christmas. Last weekend was the last deadline for having enough time to cure my soaps before I gift-wrap them.

Sweet Orange and Calendula Soap with Oatmeal

  • 40% Olive Oil
  • 30% Coconut Oil (76 degrees)
  • 5% Castor Oil
  • 10% Cocoa Butter
  • 5% Corn Oil
  • 10% Mango Butter

additives (to be added after trace):

25gr calendula infused oil, 2 tsp calendula powder, 1 tbsp oatmeal powder, 35gr orange blossom, 2tbsp sweet orange EO, 1/2 tbsp Peru Balsam EO (note: my additives are calculated for a 2.25 pound recipe, adjust your additives to the size of your recipe)

I don’t have a review for this recipe still, cause it’s still curing. But let me tell you one thing. It’s smells deliciously, it makes me wanna eat my soap again (the first time was when I made a Chocolate-Peppermint Soap!). Makes nice frothy rich lather, cleans well and the oatmeal does a gentle scrub.